Pirates’ Andrew McCutchen Wins NL MVP Convincingly

by Chris Lacey | Posted on Friday, November 15th, 2013
Facebook Twitter Plusone

Andrew McCutchen

The National League MVP was one that had a good group of candidates to select from. There was Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen that led his team to their first playoff berth since 1992.

He had a .317 average with 21 homers and 84 RBIs to include him stealing 27 bases and was caught just 10 times.

The St. Louis Cardinals had catcher Yadier Molina and he was responsible for catching a young collection of pitchers from the starting rotation and bullpen.

Molina is the best defensive catcher in all of baseball and he can sometimes act as a second manager to help guide the pitchers as they try to get through a game.

The player that had the best year offensively was Arizona Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt. He led the NL in HRs, RBIs, SLG%, OPS and Total Bases.

These three players are all deserving to win the MVP, but only one can win. The 2013 NL MVP as determined by the voters of BBWAA is McCutchen.

He won the award in a landslide by taking 28 of the 30 first-place votes and had 409 points overall. Molina had the other two first-place votes.

The one thing that stood out is that Goldschmidt received no first-place votes, but ended up in second place with 242 points. He had such a great season, but his team didn’t make the playoffs.

The runner-up finish by Goldschmidt was the highest for the Diamondbacks, who have never had an MVP.

McCutchen had a great season and it wasn’t much of a surprise he won. This is the seventh time that a Pirates player has won the award. It was also the 16th time a center fielder was named MVP and the sixth time in the NL. Willie Mays won it in 1954 and ’65 and Dale Murphy in 1982 and ‘83 each won twice. The other NL center fielder to win was Willie McGee in 1985.

Facebook Twitter Plusone
Chris Lacey
About the Author

Chris Lacey has been following baseball since he was 12 years old. His allegiances are with the Arizona Diamondbacks and Toronto Blue Jays. Follow Chris on Twitter @aecanada12

if ( function_exists( 'pgntn_display_pagination' ) ) pgntn_display_pagination( 'multipage' );